Be Careful Who You Follow…..(1 Corinthians 1:10-16)

A week or so ago, I came across this quote by Charles Spurgeon: “Calvinism is the gospel, and nothing else.” I believe it was on a video that RC Sproul put out, but I could be wrong.

But, is that true that Calvinism is the gospel?? No, it is not. The Gospel is the Gospel. Nothing more, nothing less. To insert Calvinism as being the gospel is making the gospel something different. Consider this quote by Dave Hunt:
“God did not make us robots. In spite of the denial by Luther, Calvin, and many evangelical leaders today, God gave man a will to freely choose to love or to hate Him, to receive Christ as Savior and Lord or to reject Him.”

That is true. The apostle Paul wrote of this “10 Now I beseech you, brethren, by the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that ye all speak the same thing, and that there be no divisions among you; but that ye be perfectly joined together in the same mind and in the same judgment.

11 For it hath been declared unto me of you, my brethren, by them which are of the house of Chloe, that there are contentions among you.

12 Now this I say, that every one of you saith, I am of Paul; and I of Apollos; and I of Cephas; and I of Christ.

13 Is Christ divided? was Paul crucified for you? or were ye baptized in the name of Paul?

14 I thank God that I baptized none of you, but Crispus and Gaius;

15 Lest any should say that I had baptized in mine own name.

16 And I baptized also the household of Stephanas: besides, I know not whether I baptized any other. (1 Corinthians 1:10-16 KJV)

As you can see, we are to be of only One–Jesus Christ who was crucified, died, buried and rose from the dead, conquering death and defeating sin on all who believe in Him. It is not predestined. We have free will. Adam and Eve had free will to be with their Creator, or try to be like Him by eating the fruit of the tree.

Paul clearly said that we are not to be followers of various teachers of his day. Read verse 12 again and insert the names of Calvin, Spurgeon and Sproul. Just as it was wrong in Paul’s day, it is wrong in our day.

Every Christian pastor, preacher and teacher in the world today are human, flawed humans. That is why we are not to blindly accept what they say. We are to be Bereans. Remember that when you blindly follow anyone. That famous or not famous preacher who accept without scrutiny could actually be wrong.

10 And the brethren immediately sent away Paul and Silas by night unto Berea: who coming thither went into the synagogue of the Jews.

11 These were more noble than those in Thessalonica, in that they received the word with all readiness of mind, and searched the scriptures daily, whether those things were so.

12 Therefore many of them believed; also of honourable women which were Greeks, and of men, not a few.(Acts 17:10-12 KJV)

Leave a Reply

